The year in books | Mar 2015

#theyearinbooks
#theyearinbooks Mar 2015

February’s book The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer was one of those reads that has you gripped from the start. Sympathetically written, it had pace and angst and I really felt for the main character Matthew, who was battling with schizophrenia and the death of his brother. Filer’s writing was honest and brutal in parts and I felt that at times I could really climb into Matthew’s head and see his thoughts crashing about. But then the last quarter the book kind of lost its hold on me and I was left feeling the teeniest bit disappointed with the way the book ended. I wanted to LOVE this book and instead I liked it. But that’s no bad thing.

March’s book is The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt. It’s had some pretty lofty reviews (and I wish I hadn’t read them as the last thing I want is that feeling of anticlimax or disappointment), but I have high hopes for this one.

Leave a comment